Redemption Falls

Freely adapted from the novel by Joseph O'Connor.

Redemption Falls' World Premiere took place in July 2019 as part of the Galway International Arts Festival, then toured to The Abbey Theatre as part of the Dublin Theatre Festival, October 2019

"Every last one of us got our own tune inside. If you stay real quiet you can hear it. Listen..."

A bleak and beautiful story, told through the folk music of Ireland and America.

1865 - the end of the US Civil War. Eliza Duane Mooney, daughter of an Irish emigrant, walks across America in search of her brother Jeddo, a child soldier in the Confederate army. As Eliza and Jeddo's stories unfold, they shine a light on the stark realities of war, its invisible rise, and what is left in its wake.

Moonfish Theatre follow their acclaimed adaptation of Joseph O'Connor's novel Star of the Sea with a unique re-imagining of O'Connor's sequel, Redemption Falls. Presented as a theatre-gig, Redemption Falls weaves traditional folk song and music, visceral imagery and evocative storytelling in a breathtaking and intense theatrical experience.

Redemption Falls is a co-production between Moonfish Theatre, The Abbey Theatre and Galway International Arts Festival, in association with the Town Hall Theatre.

Our musical inspirations



  1. Bright Morning Stars Trad. American
    Arranged by: Pat Hargan & Moonfish Ensemble
  2. Long Time Travelling Trad. American
    Arranged by: Moonfish Ensemble
  3. Minstrel Boy words: Thomas Moore, Tune: Trad. Irish
    Arranged by: Morgan Cooke & Moonfish Ensemble
  4. Ballad of Redemption Falls, Part 1 Words: Moonfish Ensemble
    Tune: Trad. American, Arranged by: Pat Hargan
  5. Uncle Rat / Froggy Went a Courtin’/ Con O’Keefe Arranged: by Ensemble
    1. Uncle Rat Trad. Irish
    2. Froggy Went a Courtin’ Trad. American
    3. Con O’Keefe Tune: Revenge for Skibereen / Morgan Cooke
      Words: Joseph O’Connor / Grace Kiely
  6. Motherless Child Trad. African American Spiritual
  7. I wish, I wish Trad. English
    Words by Máiréad Ní Chróinín / Joseph O’Connor
    Arranged by: Grace Kiely & Pat Hargan
  8. Heart’s Fire Composed by Grace Kiely
    Words: Grace Kiely / Joseph O’Connor
    Arranged by: Ensemble


  1. Eliza in Chains Tune: Pretty Polly (Trad. American)
    Lyrics: Ionia Ní Chróinín / Joseph O’Connor
    Arranged by: Ensemble. Harmonies by Grace Kiely
  2. Susan lick the ladle Tune: Trad. American Arranged by: Ensemble
  3. Devil at the Crossroads Composed & written by Ionia Ní Chróinín
    Arranged by: Ensemble
  4. Vengeance is Mine Composed & written by Pat Hargan
    Arranged by: Ensemble
  5. My Dear Companion © Composed & written by Jean Ritchie. Harmonies by Grace Kiely
  6. Ballad of Redemption Falls, part 2 Tune: Trad. American
    Words: Pat Hargan & Grace Kiely
    Arranged by: Pat Hargan
  7. Nottamun Town Trad. English & American
    Arranged by: Morgan Cooke
  8. Here in the vineyard (of this world) Tune: Sacred Harp Hymn
    Words: Grace Kiely / Joseph O’Connor
    Arranged by: Morgan Cooke / Ensemble
““An unpredictable, captivating tale of redemption and revenge. A story and ensemble not to be missed”” Irish Times